Lionel Hampton And His Orchestra - Steppin Out (1942-1945)

Lionel Hampton And His Orchestra
Steppin Out (1942-1945)
Label: Coral ‎– COPS 2760
Series: Jazz Goodies Series –
Type: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: Germany
Date of released:
Category: Jazz
Style: Swing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Lionel Hampton Septet* Royal Family
Written-By – Gladys Hampton, Marshall Royal
A2 Lionel Hampton Septet* I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me
Written-By – Clarence Gaskill, Jimmy McHugh
A3 Lionel Hampton Septet* Blues In The News
Written-By – Gladys Hampton
A4 Lionel Hampton Septet* Exactly Like You
Written-By – Jimmy McHugh-Dorothy Fields*
A5 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* In The Bag
Written-By – Gladys Hampton, Robert Crowder
A6 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* Loose Wig
Written-By – Frank Davenport , Lionel Hampton
A7 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* Chop-Chop
Written-By – Gladys Neal, Joe Morris , Lionel Hampton
B1 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* Flying Home #2
Written-By – Benny Goodman, Lionel Hampton
B2 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* Million Dollar Smile
Written-By – Lionel Hampton, Porter Roberts
B3 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* The Lamplighter
Written-By – Lionel Hampton, Milton Buckner*
B4 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* Overtime
Written-By – Lionel Hampton, Milton Buckner*
B5 Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra* Tempo's Boogie
Written-By – Lionel Hampton
B6 Lionel Hampton Septet* Doublin' With Dublin
Written-By – Lionel Hampton
B7 Lionel Hampton Septet* Ribs And Hot Sauce
Written-By – Lionel Hampton

Companies, etc.

  • Licensed From – MCA Records International
  • Record Company – MCA Inc.
  • Made By – MCA Records GmbH


  • Alto Saxophone – Earl Bostic (tracks: A6 to B1), Gus Evans (tracks: A6 to B1), Marshall Royal (tracks: A5), Ray Perry (tracks: A5)
  • Baritone Saxophone – Charlie Fowlkes (tracks: A6 to B1), Jack McVea (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Bass – Charles Harris (tracks: B5, B6), Vernon Alley, Vernon King (tracks: A6 to B1), Wendell Marshall (tracks: A5)
  • Clarinet – Marshall Royal (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Compiled By [Collator] – Stanley Dance
  • Drums – Fred Radcliffe (tracks: A6 to B1), George Jenkins (tracks: A1 to A5), George Jones (tracks: B5, B6)
  • Guitar – Billy Mackel (tracks: B5, B6), Eric Miller (tracks: A6 to B1), Irving Ashby (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Leader – Lionel Hampton
  • Liner Notes – Leonard Feather
  • Piano – John Mehegan (tracks: B5, B6), Milt Buckner (tracks: A1 to B1)
  • Supervised By – Milt Gabler
  • Tenor Saxophone – Al Sears (tracks: A6 to B1), Arnett Cobb (tracks: A6 to B1, B5, B6), Dexter Gordon (tracks: A5), Illinois Jacquet (tracks: A5)
  • Trombone – Al Hayes (tracks: A6 to B1), Freddy Beckett (tracks: A5 to B1), Harry Sloan (tracks: A5), Sonny Craven* (tracks: A5), Mitchell Wood (tracks: A6 to B1)
  • Trumpet – Cat Anderson (tracks: A6 to B1), Dave Page (tracks: B1 to B4), Ernie Royal (tracks: A5), Joe Morris (tracks: B2 to B4), Karl George (tracks: A5), Lamar Wright (tracks: A6 to B4), Roy McCoy (tracks: A6 to B1), Snooky Young (tracks: B2 to B4), Wendell Culley (tracks: B2 to B6)
  • Vibraphone – Hampton*
  • Violone – Ray Perry (tracks: A1 to A4)
  • Vocals – Hampton* (tracks: A1 to A4)


Recording info:
NYC, 2 March, 1942: A1 to A4
NYC, 26 May, 1942: A5
NYC, 2 March, 1944: A6 to B1
NYC, 16 October, 1944: B2 to B5
NYC, 21 May, 1945: B6, B7

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: 7-11938
  • Matrix / Runout: 7-11939
  • Rights Society: GEMA

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
DL 79244 Lionel Hampton And His Orchestra Steppin' Out Vol. 1 (1942-1945) ‎(LP, Comp) Decca DL 79244 US Unknown
012.139 Lionel Hampton And His Orchestra Steppin' Out Vol. 1 (1942-1945) ‎(LP, Comp) Decca, MCA Records 012.139 Brazil 1969
MCA-1315 Lionel Hampton 1 Steppin' Out 1942 . 1944 ‎(LP, Comp) MCA Records MCA-1315 US 1980
1315 Lionel Hampton Steppin' Out Vol. 1 (1942-1945) ‎(LP, Comp, RE) MCA Records 1315 US 1980
COP/S 2760 Lionel Hampton Steppin' Out Vol. 1 (1942-1945) ‎(LP, Comp, RE) Coral, La Compagnie COP/S 2760 France 1970